DIRECTOR OF COMMUNICATIONS OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER DIRECTRICE DES COMMUNICATIONS BUREAU DU PRÉSIDENT

# MEDIA ADVISORY

## Address by Malala Yousafzai

Ottawa, Ontario – April 11, 2017

On April 3, 2017, the following motion was adopted in the House of Commons:

That the Address of Malala Yousafzai, to be delivered in the Chamber of the House of Commons at 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, April 12, 2017, before Members of the Senate and the House of Commons, together with all introductory and related remarks, be printed as an appendix to the House of Commons Debates for that day and form part of the record of this House; that the media recording and transmission of such Address, introductory and related remarks be authorized pursuant to established guidelines for such occasions.

Therefore, on Wednesday, April 12, 2017, at noon, Malala Yousafzai will address a joint session of Parliament in the House of Commons Chamber.

Date Time Location

April 12, 2017 12:00 p.m. House of Commons Chamber

#### Members of the media should be in place by 11:00 a.m.

Event	Description	Coverage
Arrival on	Malala Yousafzai, Mr. Ziauddin Yousafzai	Pooled photo
Parliament Hill	and Mrs. Toor Pekai Yousafzai are greeted	opportunity
	by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau	
Welcoming	Welcoming Party:	Open photo
Ceremony and	The Hon. George J. Furey, Speaker of the	opportunity
signing of	Senate	
Distinguished	The Hon. Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House	
Visitors Books	of Commons	
	Ms. Nicole Proulx, Chief Corporate Services	
Confederation	Officer of the Senate	
Hall (Rotunda)	Mr. Marc Bosc, Acting Clerk of the House of	
	Commons	
	Mr. Greg Peters, Usher of the Black Rod	

Event	Description	Coverage
	Mr. Patrick McDonell, Deputy Sergeant-at- Arms, House of Commons	
At the entrance of the Library of Parliament	<ul> <li>Malala Yousafzai is introduced to the party leaders of the Senate and the House of Commons:</li> <li>Hon. Peter Harder, Government Representative in the Senate</li> <li>Hon. Rona Ambrose, Leader of the Official Opposition</li> <li>Hon. Larry W. Smith, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate</li> <li>Hon. Joseph A. Day, Leader of the Senate Liberals</li> <li>Ms. Hélène Laverdière, Foreign Affairs Critic of the New Democratic Party</li> <li>Hon. Elaine McCoy, Facilitator, Non-affiliated (ISG), Senate</li> <li>Mr. Xavier Barsalou-Duval, Parliamentary Chief of the Bloc Québécois</li> <li>Ms. Elizabeth May, Leader of the Green Party</li> </ul>	Pooled photo opportunity
Address to Parliament 12:00 p.m. House of Commons Chamber	<ul> <li>Parliament will be addressed in the following order:</li> <li>Prime Minister Trudeau</li> <li>Malala Yousafzai</li> <li>The Hon. George J. Furey, Speaker of the Senate</li> <li>The Hon. Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons</li> </ul>	Official House of Commons Broadcast and pooled coverage

## **Background**

<u>Foreign dignitaries who have addressed joint sessions of the Senate and the House of</u> Commons of Canada

#### Note

Media attendance is for accredited members of the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery. Temporary accreditation can be obtained by contacting Marc Fortier, Acting Manager of Multimedia Events, at <a href="marc.fortier@parl.gc.ca">marc.fortier@parl.gc.ca</a>.

The address will be broadcast and streamed live on ParlVU.

### For more information:

Heather Bradley
Director of Communications
Office of the Speaker of the House of Commons

## 613-995-7882

heather.bradley@parl.gc.ca