Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 80
Tuesday, November 7, 2023, 11:01 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Offah Obale, Analyst
• Simon Richards, Analyst
The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $24,250, for the study of the subject matter of Bill C-57, An Act to implement the 2023 Free Trade Agreement between Canada and Ukraine, be adopted.

• Hon. Mary Ng, P.C., M.P., Minister of Export Promotion, International Trade and Economic Development
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Bruce Christie, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Trade Negotiator
• Karl Van Kessel, Deputy Director, Investment Trade Policy
• Kati Csaba, Executive Director, Ukraine Bureau
• Dean Foster, Director, Trade Negotiations – Africa, Americas, Europe, India, Middle East
• Adam Douglas, Senior Counsel and Deputy Director, Investment and Services Law
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, November 2, 2023, the committee commenced consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-57, An Act to implement the 2023 Free Trade Agreement between Canada and Ukraine.

The Minister made a statement and, with Bruce Christie, Adam Douglas, and Dean Foster, answered questions.

At 11:46 a.m., Kyle Seeback took the Chair.

At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 1:00 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Sophia Nickel
Clerk of the committee