Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 117
Tuesday, November 14, 2023, 8:51 a.m. to 12:25 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Mehrab Kiarsi, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
As an individual
• J.P. Boutros
• Elizabeth Brown
• Erika Campbell
• Jennifer Gerdts
• Kelly Gorman
• Justine Kintanar
• Insiya Mankani
• Joseph Polito
Association québécoise de l'industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo
• Andrew Cash, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Independent Music Association
• Simon Claus, Director, Public affairs
• Eve Paré, Executive Director
Butler Mortgage Inc.
• Ron Butler, Mortgage Broker
Canadian Bankers Association
• Alex Ciappara, Vice-President and Head Economist, Financial Stability and Banking Policy
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Corinne Pohlmann, Executive Vice-President, Advocacy
Canadian Gas Association
• Paul Cheliak, Vice-President, Strategy and Delivery
City of London
• Lynne Livingstone, City Manager
• Scott Courtice, Executive Director, London Inter-Community Health Centre
Inclusion Canada
• Jeff Ferguson, Executive Director, Knowledge Mobilization and Transformation
MaRS Discovery District
• Krista Jones, Chief Delivery Officer, Ventures and Ecosystems Group
Toronto Region Board of Trade
• Reid McKay, Director, Policy Innovation and Fiscal Policy
Université de l'Ontario français
• Pierre Ouellette, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the committee resumed its pre-budget consultations in Advance of the 2024 Budget.

JP Boutros, Elizabeth Brown, Erika Campbell, Jennifer Gerdts, Kelly Gorman, Justine Kintanar and Insiya Mankani made statements.

Eve Paré, Andrew Cash, Joseph Polito, Ron Butler, Paul Cheliak and Lynne Livingstone made statements and, with Simon Claus and Scott Courtice, answered questions.

At 10:40 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Alex Ciappara, Corinne Pohlmann, Jeff Ferguson, Krista Jones, Reid McKay and Pierre Ouellette made statements and answered questions.

At 12:25 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the committee