Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 135
Tuesday, April 9, 2024, 3:31 p.m. to 5:37 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

• Chris Bittle for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
• Hon. Ed Fast for Philip Lawrence (Conservative)
• Sébastien Lemire for Gabriel Ste-Marie (Bloc Québécois)
• Darrell Samson for Rachel Bendayan (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Mehrab Kiarsi, Analyst
• Joëlle Malo, Analyst
As an individual
• Vivek Dehejia, Associate Professor of Economics and Philosophy, Carleton University
• Kate McNeece, Partner, Competition, Antitrust and Foreign Investment, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
• Stephanie Woo Dearden, Registered Psychotherapist
Association des psychoéducatrices et psychoéducateurs
• Julie Maillette, Vice-President
• Laurie Marquis, President
Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada
• Tim Ross, Executive Director
Electricity Canada
• Michael Powell, Vice-President, Government Relations
• Derek Smith, Vice-President, Corporate Tax, Emera Inc.
EverWind Fuels
• Trent Vichie, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, March 18, 2024, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-59, An Act to implement certain provisions of the fall economic statement tabled in Parliament on November 21, 2023 and certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 28, 2023.

Vivek Dehejia, Michael Powell, Stephanie Woo Dearden and Trent Vichie made statements and, with Derek Smith, answered questions.

Adam Chambers gave notice of the following motion:

That, in respect of any amendments to bill C-59 ruled in order and substantive by the Chair shall:

  1. cause clause by clause for those respective clauses be paused until such time officials present testimony on these amendments;
  2. the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, President of the Treasury Board or the Minister of National Revenue appear for 1 hour to answer committee’s questions;
  3. not prevent other clauses from being reviewed out of order.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kate McNeece, Julie Maillette, Laurie Marquis and Tim Ross made statements and answered questions.

At 5:37 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the committee