Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 103
Thursday, March 21, 2024, 3:32 p.m. to 5:28 p.m.
Ken McDonald, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Natacha Kramski, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
• Hon. Diane Lebouthillier, P.C., M.P., Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
Canadian Coast Guard
• Mario Pelletier, Commissioner
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
• Annette Gibbons, Deputy Minister
• Niall O'Dea, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy
• Luc Robitaille, Director General, Budget Planning and Financial Management
• Doug Wentzell, Regional Director General, Gulf Region
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee commenced its study of the subject matter of Supplementary Estimates (C), 2023-24: Votes 1c, 5c and 10c under Department of Fisheries and Oceans.

The Minister made a statement and, with Annette Gibbons, answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Annette Gibbons and Mario Pelletier answered questions.


Mel Arnold moved, — That the committee invite the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard to appear for no fewer than two hours regarding the 2024–25 Main Estimates and that this meeting take place as soon as possible, but no later than April 12, 2024.

Debate arose thereon.

At 5:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The debate continued.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Mel Arnold, Lisa Marie Barron, Richard Bragdon, Serge Cormier, Caroline Desbiens, Ken Hardie, Mike Kelloway, James Maloney, Robert J. Morrissey, Rick Perkins, Clifford Small — 11;

NAYS: — 0.

At 5:15 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

Annette Gibbons and Doug Wentzell answered questions.

At 5:28 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Geneviève Dubois-Richard
Clerk of the committee