Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 81
Thursday, November 2, 2023, 3:33 p.m. to 4:33 p.m.
Sukh Dhaliwal, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Philippe Antoine Gagnon, Analyst
• Martin McCallum, Analyst
Department of National Defence
• MGen Greg Smith, Director General, International Security Policy
• MGen Paul Prévost, Director of Staff, Strategic Joint Staff
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Friday, October 7, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the government's response to the final report of the Special Committee on Afghanistan.

MGen Greg Smith made a statement and, with MGen Paul Prévost, answered questions.


Brad Redekopp moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), (a) the committee extend the total number of meetings currently allocated to the current study regarding the government’s response to the final report of the Special Committee on Afghanistan by one meeting, to be held prior to December 31, 2023; and (b) Mr. George Young be invited to appear for two hours, at a date and time to be fixed by the Chair, but no later than December 31, 2023, to discuss matters related to the current study.

Debate arose thereon.

At 4:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:18 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The debate continued.

The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Tom Kmiec, Larry Maguire, Greg McLean, Brad Redekopp — 4;

NAYS: Shafqat Ali, Paul Chiang, Fayçal El-Khoury, Arielle Kayabaga, Salma Zahid — 5.

On motion of Jenny Kwan, it was agreed, — That, in the context of the study of the government's response to the final report of the Special Committee on Afghanistan, members of the committee be invited to ask written questions of the Department of National Defence by submitting these questions to the clerk of the committee, and that all answers received be distributed to the committee .

At 4:33 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Keelan Buck
Clerk of the committee